St Brendan’s power past St Colman’s to book Hogan Cup final spot

St Brendan’s College, Killarney (Kerry) 3-13
St Colman’s Claremorris (Mayo) 1-11

TWO GOALS IN three second-half minutes were crucial to defending Hogan Cup champions St Brendan’s College returning to Croke Park for the decider in two weeks’ time.

The Sem overcame a spirited challenge from St Colman’s of Claremorris this afternoon at Cusack Park in Ennis.

Level at 1-8 apiece, 10 minutes into the second-half, a fortuitous goal from the Sem’s David Shaw went underneath Claremorris goalkeeper Brian McGuinness in tricky and slippery conditions to put them back in charge after leading by 0-8 to 1-4 at half-time.

Shaw combined with Cian Gammell and Mark O’Shea in the 43rd minute to fist home his second and the school’s third goal on a day the contributions of Chris O’Donoghue in defence, Gammell at midfield along with those of Niall Donohoe and Dara Moynihan going forward stood out in an eight point win for the Sem.

Conor Diskin and Jack Ronayne were St Colman’s key men on the day as Diskin fisted in their goal in the 21st minute after a Brian Quinn attempt at a point dropped short. The Sem now await the winners of next Wednesday’s second semi-final between St Mary’s Magherafelt of Derry and St Peter’s College of Wexford in the decider on Saturday, 1 April.


St Brendans: D Shaw (2-2), M O’Shea (1-1), D O’Sullivan (0-3, 1f), N Donohoe and D Moynihan (0-2 each), C Flynn, C Gammell and B Courtney (‘45’) (0-1 each)

St Colman’s:  E Ronane (0-4, 1f), C Diskin (1-0), J Ronayne (0-3), J Jennings, B Quinn, C Goulding and S McGreal (0-1 each)


St Brendans College, Killarney

  1. Robert Osborne (Killarney Legion)

  2. Lorcán McMonagle (Dr Crokes)

  3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)

  4. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)

  5. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes)

  6. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)

  7. Niall Donohoe (Firies)

  8. Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes)

  9. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

  10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)

  11. Donnachadh O’Sullivan (Firies)

  12. Barry Keane (Listry)

  13. David Shaw (Dr Crokes)

  14. Mark O’Shea (Dr Crokes)

  15. Ciaran Flynn (Firies)

Subs: Michael Devlin (Killarney Legion) for Flynn (HT)

         Mark Harnett (Dr Crokes) for Keane (48)

         Barry Slattery (Killarney Legion) for McMonagle (53)

         Evan Cosgrave (Firies) for Donohoe (57)

         Jake Flynn (Firies) for O’Shea (59)

         Oran O’Donoghue (Glenflesk) for Gammell (60 + 2)

St Colman’s Claremorris

  1. Brian McGuinness (Claremorris)

  2. Kieran Fahey (Davitts)

  3. Kenneth Lydon (Garrymore)

  4. Bradley Hughes (Garrymore)

  5. David Gannon (Claremorris)

  6. Paddy Barry (Claremorris)

  7. Brian Quinn (Claremorris)

  8. Conor Diskin (Claremorris)

  9. Ciaran Golding (Balla)

  10. Stephen McGreal (Claremorris)

  11. Jack Ronayne (Davitts)

  12. Enda Hession (Garrymore)

  13. James Jennings (Mayo Gaels)

  14. Liam Óg Horkan (Garrymore)

  15. Evan Ronane (Davitts)

Subs: Dimitri Trench (Davitts) for Barry (HT)

         Tomas Morris (Hollymount/Carramore) for Quinn (47)

         Francis Regan (Mayo Gaels) for Hughes (51)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)


The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Alfa Romeo Racing Suit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *